On June 26, 1997, J.K. Rowling blessed the world with Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone, which later became known as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone when it was published in the United States. What followed was international pandemonium and 6 additional books. In a very short time, the world fell in love with a boy who survived a deadly attack with the scar to prove it. Today we are talking the characteristics and events that gave us Harry James Potter, The Boy Who Lived.

H – Hero

Harry Potter’s role in the 7-book fantasy series

A – Auror

Harry Potter’s occupation after the Battle at Hogwarts

R – Round

The shape of Harry Potter’s eyeglasses

R – Remembrall

When Harry successfully retrieves Neville’s Remembrall, he scores a spot on the Quidditch team as the youngest seeker in centuries.

Y – You-Know-Who

The other alias used by those who are afraid to say Lord Voldemort, the actual name of Harry’s #1 enemy. Voldemort’s unsuccessful attempt to kill baby Harry inspired the Wizard World to declare him The Boy Who Lived.

J – July 31, 1980

Harry Potters’s Birthday

A – Army

Harry secretly formed Dumbledore’s Army to help teach students defense of the dark arts.

M – Marauder’s Map

Harry Potter inherits this prized possession of his father, James Potter, through Fred and George Weasley.

E – Eleven

The age of Harry Potter when he learns he is a wizard from Hagrid.

S – Scar

Harry Potter famously has a lightning bolt scar on his forehead.

#HarryPotter is The Boy Who Lived, but what does it all mean? Click To Tweet

P – Parseltongue

The ability to communicate with snakes, which Harry shares with Voldemort.

O – Orphan

Harry Potter becomes The Boy Who Lived and an orphan after his parents James and Lily Potter are killed by Voldermort.

T – Two

Harry Potter’s two best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, help him survive life at Hogwarts and fight against Voldermort.

T – Triwizard Champion

Harry Potter becomes a Triwizard Champion when his name, unbeknownst to him, is submitted into the Goblet of Fire.

E – Elder Wand

The Elder Wand is one of the three Deathly Hallows. Harry uses the Elder Wand to repair his broken wand after defeating Lord Voldemort.

R – Resurrection Stone

One of the three Deathly Hallows. Harry receives it from Dumbledore in the Snitch he caught during his first Quidditch match.

Your Turn

So…what characteristics would you use to describe the boy who lived? What book character should we explore in our next What’s in a Name post? Let us know in the comments! |RL

P.S. Want more Reel Lit? Let’s be Pin(terest) Pals!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.